• Follow us on Linkedin
Maidstone and Malling's No.1 Newspaper
  • Call 01622 630330 and speak to a member of the sales team

  • In-depth coverage across Maidstone and Malling

  • At the heart of the community

Tonbridge and Malling MP Tom Tugendhat a favourite to succeed PM Boris in coup

Friday 13th May 2022

TONBRIDGE & Malling MP Tom Tugendhat is one of the favourites to replace the embattled Prime Minister, Boris Johnson, should he be toppled.
Mr Tugendhat, pictured, who is chairman of the foreign affairs select committee, has joint, second-place odds of 8/1 with former health minister Jeremy Hunt.
Out in front is foreign secretary Liz Truss (6/1), according to prices offered by Oddschecker.
Mr Johnson is under pressure over the ongoing saga of “partygate” and disasters predicted in the local elections. 
Mr Tugendhat has made no secret of his ambitions to lead the Conservatives and, as the party of government, would automatically become Prime Minister.
The former soldier has been an MP since 2015, but his lack of ministerial experience is seen as a weakness in his otherwise unblemished career as a soldier and parliamentarian.
Two years ago, he told Mid Kent Living magazine: "You go into politics to do the best you can and go as far as you can."
He repeated similar sentiments earlier this year on Times Radio.
In the same magazine article, a Kent backbencher said: "When he got here (Westminster) he was perhaps a little too pleased with himself, a bit smug. He ... isn't yet seen as cabinet material, although that is not, perhaps, how Tom sees it.
"He's very competent, incredibly bright but a future Prime Minister? Not yet."
Front-runners rarely win leadership contests for the Conservative Party, unless they are elected unopposed as leader, such as ex-Kent MP Michael Howard, in 2003.
The PM could be removed if 54 MPs go to the 1922 Committee and express no confidence in him. A vote would then be put to MPs and ultimately the whole of the Conservative membership.
Also making the running in the race to be Prime Minister are Ben Wallace (10-1), Penny Mordaunt (21-2), Rishi Sunak (12-1), Sajid Javid (17-1), Michael Gove (20-1), Nadhim Zahawi (23-1) and Dominic Raab (33-1).